THE SLEEPING WHALE – Le Rocher, Corsica

“La Piece de resistance” – as the French people say, of the natural reservation Le Rocher, or “La primadonna” as would say the Italians, the ex owners of Corsica island, is a big strange looking rock formation. I called it THE WHALE, but your imagination can gives it a lot of others appropriate names. It looks like sleeping in the shallows waters but, on storm-like weather, with “beaucoup du vent” and the light show of a setting sun, it brings to live, as wildly as possible.

I had the opportunity to photograph it during a 10 day holiday, living at two miles from Le Rocher, in San Ambrogio, where my dear Italian friend Simone Galletto allow me to stay at his home. I was quite lucky to see “the Whale” in its splendor and in a lot of colors and moods.

Here are some color and b&w photographs of “the Whale”, taken at Le Rocher, on that occasion. It’s a magnificent place where I would definitely like to go back sometime.

The sleeping Whale – the color series

1 2 3 4

The sleeping Whale – the B&W series

LE ROCHER BW 1 LE ROCHER BW 2 LE ROCHER BW 3 LE ROCHER BW 4

